Tech giant Google has taken down 25 apps from the Play store reporting the phishing activities indulged by these apps on Facebook login credentials of users.

The malware that effectively steals Facebook logins and could even ruin your online and offline life – says a French cybersecurity firm Evina.

 According to the French cyber-security firm, these malicious apps collectively had over 25 lakh downloads.

What is Phishing?

Phishing is a cybercrime in which a target or targets are contacted by email, telephone or text message by someone posing as a legitimate institution to lure individuals into providing sensitive data such as personally identifiable information, banking and credit card details, and passwords.

Removed apps that you need to uninstall ASAP!!!

  • Super Wallpapers Flashlight        
  • Padenatef
  • Wallpaper Level               
  • Contour level wallpaper
  • iPlayer & iWallpaper      
  • Video Maker     
  • Color Wallpapers             
  • Pedometer        
  • Powerful Flashlight         
  • Super Bright Flashlight  
  • Super Flashlight
  • Solitaire Game 
  • Accurate scanning of Meade      
  • Classic card game            
  • Junk file cleaning             
  • Synthetic Z         
  • File Manager     
  • Composite Z      
  • Screenshot Capture       
  • Daily Horoscope Wallpapers
  • Wuxia Reader
  • Plus Weather
  • Anime Live Wallpaper
  • iHealth Step Counter
  • com.tgyapp.fiction

How does this new Malware work?

“If it is a Facebook application, the malware will launch a browser that loads Facebook at the same time. The browser is displayed in the foreground which makes you think that the application launched it,” the cyber-security firm Evina explains.

Once the user launches the above mentioned contentious app on their smartphone, the malicious app detects what app a user recently opened and had in the phone’s foreground. Once the user puts their Facebook login details on the phishing page, the malicious then sends the credentials to a remote server. This could potentially allow attackers to access all data stored on the Facebook account or even allow them to access other websites where users’ have logged in via their Facebook account.

How to tell if you’ve been already infected?

Phishing tools are generally made with great precision in mimicking how a real-world login would look and feel like. Hence, it is extremely difficult to point out if one has been infected or not.

If your Facebook app suddenly features a black bar instead of a blue bar as seen in the original app, you can confirm that you have been infected.

Conclusion

If you manage to figure out that you have one of these apps already installed on your phone, uninstall them ASAP. If this is the case, I highly suggest performing a complete phone format just to be on the safer side.

Also, if you start seeing Black colored bars to enter your login details. This is a confirmed situation of an infestation. Avoid entering data there and Format your phone after backing up important information/data.

Stay safe, Cheers!!!

By Jayesh

Hi there!! I'm Jayesh, a Super tech enthusiast who spends a lot of his time obsessing over gadgets, watching reviews, and hands-on experience from various people on the internet( Tech YouTubers generally) as I'm not lucky enough (yet) to own it all for myself. I'm sharing my tech knowledge coming from my obsession over youtube tech reviewers to help friends and family decide on a product.

10 thoughts on “Uninstall these Apps immediately if you have them on your Smartphone”
  1. Very good article! We are linking to this particularly great content on our site. Keep up the great writing.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.